Throwback Thursday April 21, 2016 Prince’s Little Red Corvette

I feel that it is appropriate today to review the song “Little Red Corvette” by Prince. “Little Red Corvette” was released on February 9, 1983  as a single from Prince’s album 1999. It reached the Top Ten peaking a 6th.  If you aren’t up with the news Prince died today at the age of 57. I’ve never really listened to much of his music but I can still respect that his music had an impact on a lot of people’s lives. I chose “Little Red Corvette” because it’s really the only song by Prince that I can recognize as a Prince song and have listened to multiple times. I like the song. It’s got a nice sound to it but it’s not a song I could play on repeat. I think I’ve only been able to really listen to it 3 times in a row, which I know isn’t how “normal” people listen to music but that my process of reviewing a song. It’s a good play it once and a while song. It just doesn’t really have that much density to the lyrics. All I can really understand is the beginning and for the rest of the song all I hear is “Little Red Corvette”.  While I can acknowledge why people like Prince I just can’t hop into that train car.

Leave a comment