Throwback Thursday April 21, 2016 Daryl Hall & John Oates’ “Maneater”

“Maneater” was released on the H2O on October 4, 1982 it was later released a single on October 31, 1982. “Maneater” was #1 on Billboard’s Top 100 for 4 straight weeks.This song has a sort of reggae feel to it with the bom chuck bom chuka drum that keeps a steady beat through out the song. The Sax solos are smooth and sexy. The lyrics are easy to singalong to or at least the chorus is. I love this song and it holds goofy place in my heart. It was available as a collectible in the video game Metal Gear Solid V: Phantom Pain; In the game you had a helicopter that would extract you from hostile territory. This Helicopter had loud speakers that would play as it landed you could choose the song that was played on said speakers. I thought it would be funny to have this blackhawk fly in and pick me up all while “Maneater” was playing on the loud speakers. I was correct.

Leave a comment